Ahead to 2010, …The value of a Photo Workshop..Canon G10 in UTAH….. REALLY RIGHT STUFF ACCESSORIES… and MORE!!!

Images and text ©Jack Graham  All rights reserved

LAST CALL!!!!!!!!!!!!EASTERN SIERRA WORKSHOP OCTOBER 2010

                                                 LACALMONO11We have one space availibe for our workshop in the Eastern Sierra next month. Please contact me if you are interested. Details can be found at www.macroandmore.com  or by contacting me at jack@jackgrahamphoto.com
________________________________________________________________________

COMING in 2010!!!!

Now that summer is coming to a close, it’s on to 2010.
I’ll be announcing  next week my 2010 workshop schedule. This will include new locations such as the Smokies (late April and again in Late July), where Mike Moats ( www.tinylandscapes.com ) and I will be doing a MACRO & MORE workshop with the folks from the Great American Photography Workshop( www.gaphotoworks.com). (The workshop in late July will also feature Bill Fortney www.billfortney.net  along with Mike and me). IMG_1010
I’ll once again be partnering up with Ralph Nordstrom www.ralphnordstromphotography.com to do our 2nd annual Death Valley workshop in February eLA_NP_DV_ZAB1_0902_0999and then a very special workshop in the Napa Valley, and the San Francisco Bay area, including time on the coast) in November 2010. I’ll be posting my 2010 schedule here on the blog soon.

                                                                                        Mike Moats having a quick lunch 

 There will be discounted pricing for my workshops for early registration as well as for NANPA www.nanpa.org  members.

 

 

 

THE VALUE OF A PHOTOGRAPHY WORKSHOP–KNOWLEDGE IS POWER

As I continue to conduct workshops all over America, it has become more apparent that lots of folks need training in using today’s modern cameras and lenses in order to get the most out of them. Often I see the person who goes out and buys equipment, sometimes very expensive equipment and neglectes to find out how to use it correctly.  I recently had a customer  who bough a Nikon D3, and had every settings adjusted to:  Program mode, automatic metering and auto focusing. This is all well and good, and this camera, set in these modes will often product superb images. His comment to me, when I offered some advice on how manually metering might help in a certain situation, or by shooting in aperture priority would be a benefit was  … ” I just paid all this money so the camera would do everything I need automatically”. Well folks… as most of you know, no matter how much you pay, YOU… the photographer make it happen and make a big difference in the quality of images you produce._DSC0921

Having said that, I suggest to everyone who is either new to photography, or is upgrading to newer more specialized equipment, to include in their budget some training, in properly useing your  equipment in the field. Weather you do one of my workshops (andI hope you will ) or someone elses, please do yourself a favor and include training $$$ in your budget. It is really important now more than ever. Remember, good equiptment will GIVE YOU THE CHANCE to get good images. The photographer makes it happen. Knowledge is Power.

Also buying the right equipment and matching it to your needs is very important. A few weeks ago I saw a fellow using a Nikon D700 ( not a cheap camera) with a really average after market lens. How did this happen? ell he went into a camera store, and was “sold” this combination by what was probably an experienced sales person, or someone who really didn’t know or care about this customer. That’s why I encourage you, if you have questions about equipment to consult folks who do. Reputable dealers t you can talk to with knowledgeable staff still easiest. Stay away from the big box stores our the chains if you want information you can count on and people you can call back in a month or year if you have questions. (See my comments about Hunt’s below).

Just my $ 0.02

_______________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

I’ll be working closely with the folks at THINK TANK www.thinktankphoto.com  in 2010. I’ll also be announcing ways for my attendees to receive discounts in Think Tank merchandise as well.

And finally please consider Hunt’s Photo www.huntsphotoandvideo.comfor you next purchase. These are really good folks to work with. Their pricing is as good as it gets. Their service is the best and most importantly, if you call them, ask for Gary Farber ( digitalguygary@wbhunt.com ….and tell Gary I recommend you). Gary actually answers his phone, and returns calls, something not common in today’s photo retailer world. Often he has special purchases available that are quite amazing. Call Gary at 800-221-1830.

Later this month, I’ll be posting images shot in 2009 using the Lensbaby www.lensbaby.com products. I am having lots of fun creating images that I never though possible using their accessories. They open up a whole new world of photography and allow the photographer to really stretch his or her’s imagination.

Well, hopefully in a week or so, I’ll be back at 100% after my “event” in Olympic National Park. I would personally like to thank everyone for their good thoughts, especially my good friend Bill Fortney from Nikon  nikonwho has been there for good council and support.

 

And as always remember to check out Photograph America  for the BEST in where, when and how to photograph www.photographamerica.com. Tell Bob I said hi!
_____________________________________________________________________________

 

Canon G10 at SNOW CANYON, UTAH……. ADOBE TRAINING……………… and more!!!

I recently spent some time visiting some friends in St. George, Utah. After what happened in Olympic National Park (see past blog article) I went through a time when I was pretty unmotivated to do anything, let alone photography. At the urging of my wife and a few close friends, I decided to travel down to St. George for a few days as planned a month or so earlier. This trip was a combination of R & R with my good friends, Bob Kulon, Gerry Emery as well as Bob’s kind offer to work on Photo shop & Lightroom with me in order for me to gain more knowledge in properly using these programs. bootcampbob

Though most of us have our own ways and theories on how to post process. I am always searching out input from those “in the know” to help me  to be better at processing my images. Bob is one such person. Bob is as good as it gets, for post processing knowledge and his ability to teach it  When it comes to CS4, Lightroom, Elements, and lots of other programs we all may use ( or should!),  Bob can, without question,  guide you in attaining the best results possible. ( And by the way he’s not a bad photographer either!).  For those of you in the Las Vegas, or the Southwestern US area ( St/ George is only about 1 hour from Las Vegas!) and even for those not lucky enough to be located there, I would strongly encourage you to get with Bob and learn his techniques.                     It would be well worth it http://bkulon.wordpress.com/
  Bob’s Online Gallery –  http://www.bobkulonphoto.com

As I am waiting on a replacement Nikon D700 and a few lenses that were unfortunately rendered unusable in the wreck in Olympic NP last month so I took only my Canon G10 with me. What a great little camera. (A new G11 was announced this week!). We spent the better part of Saturday and Sunday (it was over 100 degrees during the day….Sunday turned out to be nice & cool after some rain on Sat!) working inside on CS4 & Lightroom. However, on Sunday morning we ventured out just a short distance from Bob’s to Snow Canyon State Park  to do some shooting, only about 10 miles from St George.

Red sandstone rocks along with white hills make up the cliffs on each side of the valley. LA_UT_SNOCYN6_0908These areas are particularly colorful and provide excellent and endless photographic opportunities. If you like patterns along with amazing color, this area is as good as it gets. Desert plants add lots of color to the area as well.  LA_UT_SNOCYN3_0908_G10Only occasional hikers and photographers are around, which makes things even better for those of us who enjoy working an area looking for some good images. It surly isn’t a crowded park by any means.

LA_UT_SNOCYN5_0908

 

All images were made using the Canon G10, Really Right Stuff  “L”  bracket and Gitzo Tripod. They were shot in RAW and post processed in Adobe CS4.

ABOVE & LEFT  : Endless pattern offer great photographic opportunities.

 

 

 

The image below was taken using the G10’s Macro setting. The “L” bracket, ball head and tripod was necessary to get this sharp.

LA_UT_SNOCYN4_0908

_______________________________________________________________________________________________

I always enjoy telling my workshop attendees the benefits of using the right equipment. Having a good camera and good equipment gives us the “chance” to make a good photograph, and using many of the products from The Really Right Stuff  Company  www.reallyrightstuff.com is almost a must. As most of you know, who know me, know I preach how important a tripod is. It is maybe MORE important with a small point & shoot like the G10 as with a full sized DSLR. The G10 and it counterparts are small, light and even harder to keep from moving than DSLR’s. In steps the really Right Stuff. Along with plates and “L” brackets for every DSLR and lens available these folks actually make an”L” bracket for the G10 (the G11 bracket is on is way!).

An “L” bracket makes it easy to move from horizontal shot to a vertical shot.  IMG_1422I used this bracket; a sturdy tripod and a good ball head (Yes the RRS makes the best!) all the time to make these images. There is NO WAY they would be  sharp without a tripod, ball head and this bracket.

In other words, there is NO FREE LUNCH when it comes to a sharp image. CS4, Light room or any other software you may try will not help if your images aren’t sharp to begin with. (The rumor is that the RRS is coming out with a new tripod that will challenge anything on the market… stay tuned.)JGA_0354

Why not get on their mailing list?

“L” bracket tor Canon G10 by the Really Right Stuff

Leave a Reply

